When dreams become reality

SDC14298
Meet Amy!

Words can’t describe how EXCITED I am for this roadtrip! I am so happy to finally be doing this. The reason I am most excited now is because my best friend Amy will for sure be joining me! (I am still hoping our men can come too- but we will see). Amy is the most down to earth, free-spirited person I know. So no matter what happens on our trip, we are going to be loving every minute of it! We are both pretty simple people, so we want to make the roadtrip as hobo as possible. So much that, we are planning to sleep in a tent/my car wherever we stop, live off of pb&j’s (no fast food!), meditate on a mountain, stop and have a picnic under a shady tree wherever there’s a good view, she’s even bringing a cigarette lighter plug in coffee maker! She also wants to sew our own clothes specifically for this trip, and stay in jail! Lmao, when she said this I was just like…. “Jail?!” Then she went on to explain that there used to be free 2 person private jail cells that they let you sleep in out west, and that he teacher has done it. I guess we’ll see once we are out there haha! Oh and apparently we are getting tattoos. Lmao, it’s already been so much fun ‘roughly’ planning, so I can only imagine how much fun it will be once it becomes a reality!

Speaking of reality- I always feel really “irresponsible” when I tell people what I’m planning this summer. Everyone kind of looks at me like either a) I’m not actually going to do it, or b) I’m an idiot for not staying and working and trying to figure out plans for grad. school or my future. Maybe it’s because when they ask where I’m going I just say “west” and I don’t really have a solid plan with every detail planned out. But, that’s the way I’ve always been. I’m more of a “go with the flow” type of person than a planner. Besides, it’s more adventurous when you don’t have a solid, detailed plan, because you never know where life will take you, who you will meet, and the experiences you will gain if you just wing it! The mystery of not knowing the next step is the best part!

Additionally, I believe that you create your own reality, or your own happiness. If you don’t do the things you desire, you will never know, and therefore, you will never feel satisfied. Up until now I have basically followed the crowd, I have graduated from high school, then from college, now I’m working a somewhat professional job (one that you need a degree to work in anyway), I am working on sprucing up my grad school application. Then I will (hopefully) go to grad school, and get the job I have been planning for.

Now, I am breaking away from the confinements of this monotonous society, and doing what ‘I’ want for a change. I have always dreamed of traveling–  though I HAVE gone places, and those were some of the best times of my life.. I believe that now is the time to do it big (well as big as I can with a budget). That is why I am taking this roadtrip out west. What better time than now? I am young and healthy, I am ‘able’ to do this now. Because we all know, after grad school, I will be in so much debt I won’t be able to afford an aimless roadtrip, and I will have to find a career right away. Then I will be working, and by the time I have enough vacation time built up, and all the stars are aligned again so I can go with my friends, and have absolutely nothing to worry about… well, that would be a very long time from now. You never know what can happen in that time too, Amy will prob have 6 children by then! :p (she’s always wanted a lot of kids).

Come summertime, I will have a year between starting grad school- if I get in. My lease here ends in May, and I don’t plan on re-signing. I have been here for 6 years, and if I get into the grad program I want, I will have another 2 years at the least. So I think it’s time for a little change. Plus– I don’t know what my boyfriends plan is because he is trying to figure his life out too, so we can’t really decide where we are going to live until we know more. So, as of now I am potentially “homeless” for the summer. So what better way to live in your car for a few weeks than to do it traveling around the United States!

Yes, I should do the responsible thing and stay where I’m at and continue working this decent paying job that I was blessed with, so that if I do go to school here, I will still have my job. I also really enjoy this job and don’t exactly want to leave. But I feel more strongly about this roadtrip (and that’s why I feel so irresponsible when I tell people about it). However, it’s not just some crazy roadtrip where I am going to act a fool in every state (kind of). For me it’s more of a ‘spiritual journey’ I am doing this to learn more about my country, and about myself! I want to meet strangers and learn their stories. I want to confirm my belief that there is still good in this world, that it’s not as bad as it seems. There’s no better way to do this than by experiencing it for yourself! Also, as Buddha says: “The trouble is, you think you have time.”

Speaking of responsibility- I should probably get started on studying for this physics exam that’s in less than 24 hrs. Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

