Another Wanderlust Post.

I know, I’m sorry. But I can’t help it! I keep seeing things that remind me of this roadtrip and I get way too excited!! Today, I was pleasantly reminded by this Article: 6 Reasons Why Not Quitting Your Job to Travel is A Waste Of Your Life! I have to say, I completely agree with these 6 reasons (big shock)! Whenever I speak with an elder person, one of the things they make sure to tell me is that if I have the desire to travel (and that I should), do it now, while I’m still young. One elder couple told me of all their travels and how happy they were with what they had accomplished at the time, because shortly after, both their health went downhill and now they are spending all their time with doctor visits and health programs. Luckily, they’ve remained in high spirits and they love to share their stories!

As much as I do feel irresponsible for ditching my “normal life,” I think it is actually very necessary to gain this “Life Experience” while you still can. Then, if/when you come back to “reality” and you are sitting down for an interview with grad. school, or a new job.. you can tell them that you know more now than you ever would have hadn’t you taken this trip. That you’ve seen more of the world, you’ve experienced it for yourself, and now you are ready to take the time to further your education- or your career, because you have more of an understanding of what’s out there, and how the world works.

If they don’t care for life experience, then I don’t want to be apart of that system. If they are just looking for “someone who will deliver”.. how can a person give 100% when they only know 50%? Sure, you may look irresponsible for living out your dreams, but at the end of the day.. you have more knowledge than any ordinary person who has remained complacent. The experiences gained through traveling are something that can never be taken away from you. Quite honestly, I think living out your dreams.. or, doing the things you say you are going to do– whether it be traveling, or having 10 horses, shows more dedication, commitment, and strength than being fearful of the unknown and continuing a life where you are not fully satisfied. Doing what you say you’re going to do shows that you stand strong for what you believe in, and you will do whatever it takes when it comes to the things you are passionate about.

I plan to continue pursuing my career in the medical field. But how can I expect to understand each individual patient, from a diverse population, if I haven’t gone out of my way to learn more about them as a person. As the article states:

“When you travel, you meet people who will change your perspective on life and how you should lead your own…. when you talk to people on the road, you see who they really are, not who they’ve been trained to be by habit and circumstance”

I wholeheartedly believe this! I want to know more about people before I start working in a field where I would be interacting with all different types on a daily basis. That way, I won’t have to generalize, and I will be able to connect more with each individual, because I will have a better understanding on how to interact with others. Maybe I’ll actually appear to be more interesting to my patients as well with the experiences that I would love to share! 😉

You learn how things are done in other places while traveling, and you never know what you will learn about yourself along the way. It will be interesting to see the different lifestyles, and the diversity in my very own country for myself. I am thrilled to learn how other people live their lives here in America, and possibly change my whole perspective on life. I love to expand my knowledge, and what better way to learn.. what better “subject” to learn about.. than starting with your own country and experiencing different lifestyles yourself. Most places want “experienced” employees.. what better “Experience” can you get? 

P.S.- I am working on an actual somewhat informative post that will be up soon. I just had to get this off my chest!

Leave a Reply

