Finding happiness in the deep sea of adversity

ghost

The problem with being open and honest with friends is that things change. One minute you’re pouring your heart out about a situation, and the next that situation has done a complete 360 with every degree being different. My problem is, I’m a people pleaser. I like to fill my friends in, because it helps to talk about life. However, when things change, you may look like a walking contradiction. I really don’t like when people contradict themselves. Therefore, when I feel I have contradicted something, I feel I must explain myself.. and it’s exhausting.

The truth is.. it still won’t do any good. You explain everything and then your friends probably have their own opinion, in which they may not share with you. The trouble here is that, just when you think you have someone figured out, they turn around and do something that violates your opinion. The trouble is, I don’t even know myself.. so I would like to think the people around me don’t believe they have me all figured out. The people I choose to surround myself with are honest, open-minded, and non-judgmental people. They understand that one is no more ‘superior’ than the other, we are all human, and we all make mistakes. That being said, I can only hope they never lose their integrity, and I don’t believe they will.

There is a reason things happen the way they do. But when one thing is said, and the next time you talk things are completely different, try to remember that life goes on. The tables are always turning. It’s impossible to fill someone in on every waking moment of your life and I don’t think anyone even cares to know all that. If anything you just hear the highlights, some issues they may be facing, and maybe some of their thoughts they’ve been having. Just know that it’s not the whole story, and as much as you think you’ve uncovered… well, let’s just say there’s still an ocean waiting to be discovered.

This is why it is important to focus on understanding yourself. Because no one understands you better than yourself, and you are the only one that controls your happiness. Stop trying to please others, because they will never fully understand the battles you face. They only know what you decide to tell them, and even then things are changing. So what do you truly want? No one can answer that but yourself. Friends give great advice, but they can never understand the way you feel. So do what makes you happy.. even if it doesn’t make sense to anyone else, as long as it makes sense to you that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

