Irony

In the midst of scrolling through news feeds, checking the actual news, and turning on the TV.. it has just now come to my attention that America has problems (sarcasm). Problems that date back so long ago, it’s astounding that they still have yet to be resolved. Activists everywhere pour their heart and soul into the issues they feel most passionate about. They get satisfying feedback- positive and negative.. but who are they targeting, and is anyone actually listening?

I’m a firm believer that an “issue” only becomes an “issue” because someone created the “issue.” Take racism for example, I know this is a conflicting subject that everyone at least has an opinion on, if not strong feelings toward. The word itself gets some people fired up right away. Everyone knows the history on the roots of racism. It’s obvious that we still see racism today, just maybe not as apparent as it used to be. The world has come a long way in working together to make life a little more peaceful for all.

I will say that some people really do not give a flying fuck what your skin color is. At least the way I see it, you can be black, brown, yellow, orange, purple, or white.. I do not care. If you are a decent, genuine person.. you have my full support in anything you try to accomplish. If you are an asshole to me, I usually just turn the other cheek and forget about it.. because in the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t matter. Every now and then you may catch me on a bad day and I’ll have an attitude back. Everyone has bad days. Everyone.

Now days we have people who LOVE to play games. The blame game… The “he said/she said…” Apparently anything that is taken offensively is racist if it is a discrepancy between opposite skin tones. There are people who say things like “boo hoo, there’s no historical pattern of your race being discriminated against, get over it” or “that was so long ago that our ancestors abused your basic human rights, get over it.. we’re different.” You can say “history repeats itself” but you know what.. why aren’t people saying “we have the opportunity to create history??” POSITIVE history at that. Why is it always twisting statements around and putting words into other people’s mouths in order to suit your own spiteful agenda? Will we ever be able to have a civil conversation on what can be done to change the current issue, or will we always just conform to segregation and discrimination based on “history?”

Like I said, there’s not an issue until one is created. I honestly believe social media.. or media in general, just contributes to the problem in this scenario. If anything, the media is an instigator. An article is put out for everyone to read. However, half the people are not reading the article, they are only reading the comments. They are then fired up and fueled with rage based on one comment they read and disagreed with. They pick that comment out all of them to reply, and the cycle of hate and discrimination continues. That’s why I ask.. can racism ever really be ‘solved?’ Right now, in all honesty I think it comes down to “the majority” are sick of being called racists and their questionable actions being judged and characterized as “racist or non-racist,” and I think “minorities” are sick of constantly feeling victimized, and like they are not being heard, so they speak louder. Many have good intentions, but when they come together, we put our guards up, pull out our weapons, and resolve nothing. Racism is not the only issue we face, this is obvious. So tell me, what should our main focus be right now?

Feel free to share your opinions. Tell me where I’m wrong, or where I’m right. Enlighten me on what needs to be understood, or forgotten. I want to hear what you have to say, but my challenge to you is to keep it civil, speak from love.. not hatred.

Leave a Reply

