DIY Toothpaste!

I don’t like to use regular toothpaste because of the fluoride (an industrial toxic waste product, which is a poison, and can cause neurological and endocrine dysfunction) and other unnecessary, cancer-causing ingredients.

I started using organic toothpaste, but after learning the many benefits of coconut oil toothpaste, I decided to give it a try! Some of these benefits include: attacking streptococcus bacteria (a major cause of tooth decay), no harmful chemicals, anti-cavity properties,  and cost efficiency!

And here’s something slightly personal- fluoride can cause dental fluorosis, which I had a mild case of since I was a kid. I did not realize that once I started using my homemade toothpaste my teeth would become naturally whiter and I no longer have those disgusting lines on my teeth as bad as I once had!

I’ve officially gone coco loco.

So now I’ll tell you how I make my toothpaste (the simplest way possible).

2016-02-28 20.00.17
All you really need is coconut oil, and baking soda. A small zip-lock bag, spoon, and a curious puppy 😉

2016-02-28 20.00.44
Dump baking soda into bag. Scoop a couple tablespoons of coconut oil into bag.

 

 

2016-02-28 20.01.08
Close bag, mush together with hands.
2016-02-28 20.01.43
Take an old toothpaste tube and cut the top off.
2016-02-28 20.02.17
Rinse it out really well.
2016-02-28 20.02.41
Snip the corner of the zip-lock bag and squeeze into tube. I duct taped mine back together but I’m sure there are better ways to go about closing it.
2016-02-28 20.03.40
You can add essential oils to make it taste better (I’ll be honest, it tastes like salt water) and for other benefits. I did not put oil in mine this time because this is all I have and I do not believe you can ingest these ones.

That’s all there is to it folks! Pretty simple, and very beneficial!

If you would like to read more about how wonderful coconut oil really is, read this! My friend posted it the other day so I thought I should share.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

